Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
View the Frequently Asked Questions (PDF) or refer to the 2020 Fireworks Redbook (PDF) for answers to more fireworks questions. Contact T&R for more information about licensing requirements or exhibition permits.
Show All Answers
No, you cannot set fireworks off in the State of Ohio.
Yes, you may buy consumer or 1.4G fireworks from a licensed wholesaler or manufacturer; however, you cannot discharge any consumer or 1.4G fireworks in the State of Ohio.
You must transport all fireworks purchased in Ohio out of the state within 48 hours of the purchase.
The only items that can be used in Ohio are designated "trick and novelty" which smoke, pop, and/or sparkle.
In Ohio, use of 1.4G fireworks (fire crackers, bottle rockets, etc.) is illegal. (R.C. 3743.65 (B))
Only a licensed fireworks exhibitor can discharge fireworks in Ohio. Those interested in becoming a licensed exhibitor must apply with the Bureau of Testing and Registration (T&R), pass an exam, and complete a background check. Applicants must submit a letter of proficiency in the handling and discharging of fireworks from an Ohio licensed exhibitor or possess a certified copy of a fireworks license from another state.
An exhibition permit is required for all firework exhibitions, which is issued by the local fire chief, police chief or county sheriff. The permit specifies the date, time, location, and other parameters of how the exhibition will be executed. Applicants must be a licensed fireworks exhibitor, and the fireworks must be purchased from an Ohio licensed wholesaler, manufacturer, or out-of-state shipper. Authorities inspect the exhibition site before, during and after the exhibition. Federal, state and local laws and regulations must be followed.
The exhibition must also comply with the Ohio Fire Code and the safety provisions outlined in the Ohio Revised Code. During the shoot, only registered employees and certified fire safety officials are allowed within the discharge site.
Yes. Most first-time violations are first-degree misdemeanors, punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and six months in jail. Illegal fireworks can be confiscated by law enforcement authorities. Violations include failing to transport fireworks out of state within the specified time period and discharging fireworks.